2014 DWS Fanfare Contest Winners!

The Dallas Winds will herald the beginning of each concert during their 2014-2015 concert season with works from eight American composers, the winners of our 2014 Fanfare Competition.

Winners of the 2014 Fanfare Competition:

    • Russell Powell (Fort Worth, TX): Fanfare for Brass
      Performed September 30, 2014
    • Andrew D. Herring (Harrisburg, PA): The Forging of Mjolnir
      Performed October 8, 2014
    • Joseph Turrin (Clifton, NJ): Fanfare a la Carte
      Performed November 18, 2014
    • Chuck Mandernach (Dallas, TX): Fanfare and Interlude
      Performed December 23, 2014
    • Tyler S. Grant (Pelham, AL): Panoramic Fanfare
      Performed January 27, 2015
    • Christopher Kyle Green (Euharlee, GA): Ultraplex
      Performed February 24, 2015
    • R. Ward Miller (Eden Prairie, MN): Change Ringing
      Performed March 24, 2015
    • Mike Forbes (Mt. Horeb, WI): Commemorative Fanfare
      Performed April 21, 2015

Fanfare in Meyerson Lobby

A winning fanfare will be performed in the lobby of the Morton H. Meyerson Symphony Center before each of the Dallas Wind Symphony’s seven subscription season concerts, plus our Christmas concert.

"The pre-concert fanfare has become a tradition for the Wind Symphony," Campbell said. "They’re short, upbeat, and like a little cocktail to set a festive mood for the beginning of the evening. It’s really cool to see six or seven hundred people gather on the concert hall steps to listen, before they go on into the hall to enjoy the main program."